The creative writing programme at Whitireia Community Polytechnic, Porirua, was established in 1993. At that time, it offered one full-year full-time course and by 2005 it offered three full-time diplomas. The creative writing programme now offers the Bachelor in Applied Arts (Creative Writing).

The programme also offers the Diploma in Creative Writing, the Diploma in Creative Writing (Advanced) and the Graduate Diploma in Creative Writing. With both the Advanced and Graduate Diplomas, writers complete a major project, whether a novel, a collection of poetry, a script or other form of writing. During their first year, diploma students work in a variety of genres and they can choose to study on campus or online from home.

The creative writing programme emphasises originality and excellence in the craft of writing, and the practical business knowledge of being a writer. We are very proud of our graduates, who take part in almost every aspect of New Zealand writing life: as organisers of performance poetry, in the New Zealand  Book Council’s Writers in Schools programme, as screen and stage scriptwriters, organising  writers’ groups, in magazines as editors, journalists and writers. Many of our graduates have published books and won awards. Their writing often features in established and emerging literary magazines.
The work of more than 25 students from this programme has been published.
These successful authors include:



Tusiata Avia
Donna Banicevich-Gera
Vince Ford
Mandy Hager
Wendy Jones
Louise Lawrence
Joan MacLean
Karen McMillan


Anne Powell
Maajte Quivooy
Maggie Rainey-Smith
Alison Robertson
Jo Thorpe
Caren Wilton
Donna Wright



We are indebted to the tutors on the programme – Hinemoana Baker, Costa Botes, Lynn Davidson, Mary-Jane Duffy, David Geary, Mandy Hager, Adrienne Jansen, Anna Taylor, Renée Taylor, Graeme Tetley, Julia Wall – and to all the New Zealand writers and editors who contribute to the success of our student writers:


Fergus Barrowman
Fleur Beale
Norman Bilbrough
Costa Botes
James Brown
Rachel Davies
Chris Else
Barbara Else
Catherine Fitzgerald
Mandy Hager
Anna Jackson

Daphne De Jong
Michael Keith
Fiona Kidman


Jonathan King
Phillip Mann
Sue McCauley
Julia Millen
Stephanie de Montalk
Paula Morris
Julian Novitz
Chris Orsman
Vivienne Plumb
Anna Rogers
Elizabeth Smither
Paul Thomas
Bridget Williams




We hope you enjoy this selection of work written by our students and tutors. We welcome your enquiries. Contact us