Welcome to the 4th Floor 


The 4th Floor online journal is a selection of work written each year by students and tutors on the creative writing programme at Whitireia New Zealand. Our submission guidelines tell you how and when you can submit work to the journal.
The 4th Floor takes its name from the time when the journal began. The writing programme was situated on the fourth floor of the Whitireia Wellington city campus. Though the programme has since shifted, the name 4th Floor has stuck.

The Whitireia Creative Writing Programme

The Whitireia Creative Writing Programme was established in 1993. Students can complete a one or two year diploma, or graduate with a degree specialising in long- or short-form fiction, creative non-fiction, poetry or scriptwriting. There are also seven online courses including writing for children.
The Whitireia Creative Writing Programme emphasises originality and excellence in the craft of writing, and provides the practical business knowledge needed for being a writer. We are very proud of our graduates who take part in almost every aspect of New Zealand writing life: as organisers of writing events and writers’ groups, in the New Zealand Book Council’s Writers in Schools programme, as scriptwriters for screen and stage, and as editors, journalists and writers for magazines and other publications.
More than 220 books have come from graduates of the programme and their work also appears in established and emerging literary magazines. Some of the successful authors to emerge from this programme include:



We are indebted to the team from the Whitireia Publishing programme who undertake this project every year. In 2018 this was Rebecca Chester, Alex Stronach, Katrina Fankhauser, Allie Davis, Kate Robb and Mishalee Wickremesekera with support from tutors Helen Heath and Marie Hodgkinson. We would also like to acknowledge the tutors on the Whitireia Creative Writing Programme:

Donna Banicevich-Gera
Mary-Jane Duffy
Mandy Hager
Johanna Knox
Tim Jones

Adrienne Jansen
Anna Taylor
Samiha Radcliffe
Latika Vasil
Tess Jamieson-Karaha



We would also like to thank all the New Zealand writers and editors who contribute to the success of our student writers:

Fleur Beale
Norman Bilbrough
Gigi Fenster
Catherine Fitzgerald
Catherine Robertson
Greg Bruce

Pip Adam
Lawrence Patchett
Kate Duignan
Phillip Mann
Paddy Richardson
Stefanie Lash
Barbara Murison
Tim Jones
Eirlys Hunter
Anna Rogers
Elizabeth Smither
Anna Smaill
William Brandt
Rachel Craw
David Hill
Karen Trebilcock
Ann Neville


If you are interested in finding out more about the creative writing study options provided at Whitireia New Zealand, please visit the website or contact us.


NB: This website uses macrons to indicate double-vowels in Māori language words. Letters with macrons may appear strange to Mac users who browse with Firefox. We recommend using Safari or Google Chrome instead.


Permanent link to this article: http://4thfloorjournal.co.nz/about/